New Zealand Rugby World Cup Squad 2023

The New Zealand rugby team, known as the All Blacks, is all geared up for the Rugby World Cup 2023. They are a powerful team, already having won the World Cup three times before. Now, they hope to win again and bring another trophy home.

Let’s look closer at the New Zealand Rugby World Cup 2023 Team Squad, their history, and past performances.

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Squad 2023

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Squad (Final Roster)

The All Blacks squad for Rugby World Cup 2023 in France has been announced by Ian Foster, Jason Ryan and Joe Schmidt. Former All Blacks captain Richie McCaw unveiled the squad comprising 33 players.

The team includes 18 forwards and 15 backs, with three hookers, six props, four locks, five loose forwards, three halfbacks, three first five-eighths, four midfielders, and five outside backs. Sam Cane will captain the team. With 1493 Test caps, this is the most experienced All Blacks squad in Rugby World Cup history, with an average age of 27.

Stream Rugby World Cup live

The squad will have a three-day pre-Rugby World Cup preparations camp in Napier, which was hit hard by cyclone Gabrielle. The All Blacks will start their World Cup campaign against host France in Paris on 8 September.

Players appearing at multiple Rugby World Cups include Samuel Whitelock, Aaron Smith, Beauden Barrett, Brodie Retallick, Codie Taylor, Dane Coles, and Sam Cane.

Dane ColesHooker3686New Zealand Hurricanes / Wellington
Samisoni Taukei’ahoHooker2527New Zealand Chiefs / Waikato
Codie TaylorHooker3279New Zealand Crusaders / Canterbury
Ethan de GrootProp2516New Zealand Highlanders / Southland
Nepo LaulalaProp3149New Zealand Blues / Counties Manukau
Tyrel LomaxProp2726New Zealand Hurricanes / Tasman
Fletcher NewellProp237New Zealand Crusaders / Canterbury
Ofa Tu’ungafasiProp3153New Zealand Blues / Northland
Tamaiti WilliamsProp222New Zealand Crusaders / Canterbury
Scott BarrettLock2961New Zealand Crusaders / Taranaki
Brodie RetallickLock32103New Zealand Chiefs / Hawke’s Bay
Tupou Vaa’iLock2321New Zealand Chiefs / Taranaki
Sam WhitelockLock34145New Zealand Crusaders / Canterbury
Sam Cane (c)Flanker3189New Zealand Chiefs / Bay of Plenty
Shannon FrizellFlanker2928New Zealand Highlanders / Tasman
Dalton PapaliiFlanker2525New Zealand Blues / Counties Manukau
Luke JacobsonNumber 82614New Zealand Chiefs / Waikato
Ardie SaveaNumber 82974New Zealand Hurricanes / Wellington
Finlay ChristieHalf-back2717New Zealand Blues / Tasman
Cam RoigardHalf-back221New Zealand Hurricanes / Counties Manukau
Aaron SmithHalf-back34118New Zealand Highlanders / Manawatu
Beauden BarrettFirst five-eighth32115New Zealand Blues / Taranaki
Damian McKenzieFirst five-eighth2842New Zealand Chiefs / Waikato
Richie Mo’ungaFirst five-eighth2948New Zealand Crusaders / Canterbury
Jordie BarrettCentre2651New Zealand Hurricanes / Taranaki
David HaviliCentre2825New Zealand Crusaders / Tasman
Rieko IoaneCentre2662New Zealand Blues / Auckland
Anton Lienert-BrownCentre2862New Zealand Chiefs / Waikato
Caleb ClarkeWing2418New Zealand Blues / Auckland
Leicester Fainga’anukuWing233New Zealand Crusaders / Tasman
Emoni NarawaWing241New Zealand Chiefs / Bay of Plenty
Mark TeleaWing264New Zealand Blues / North Harbour
Will JordanFullback2524New Zealand Crusaders / Tasman

Also Check: How to Watch Rugby World Cup in NZ?

New Zealand Rugby World Cup History and Past Performance

New Zealand’s All Blacks are a top team in Rugby World Cup history.


New Zealand won the first Rugby World Cup that they hosted. They beat France 29-9 in the final game. They played very well, showing strength, skill, and smart strategies.


The All Blacks couldn’t keep their title in the World Cup held in England. They lost to the Australian team in the semi-finals. They came in third after beating Scotland.


In the 1995 World Cup in South Africa, the All Blacks played really well, especially Jonah Lomu. But they lost to South Africa in the final game, which needed extra time. This game is very famous in rugby history.


In 1999 the All Blacks reached the semi-finals again, but France beat them. They finished fourth after South Africa beat them in the third-place game.


In the 2003 World Cup in Australia, the All Blacks made it to the semi-finals but lost to Australia. They won the third-place game against France.


In the 2007 World Cup in France, France surprisingly defeated the All Blacks in the quarter-finals. This was a big shock in World Cup history.


In 2011, the All Blacks won the World Cup again, which was hosted by them. They won a very close final game against France, 8-7. This was their second World Cup win, 24 years after their first.


In the 2015 World Cup in England, New Zealand won again. They were the first team to win the Rugby World Cup two times in a row. They beat Australia in the final game, 34-17.


In the last World Cup in Japan, the All Blacks lost in the semi-finals to England. They came in third after beating Wales.

The All Blacks have always been a strong team in the Rugby World Cup, playing great rugby and creating memorable moments. Because of their successful history, they are always expected to do well in any tournament they play in.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *