2023 Rugby World Cup Teams: The Complete List

The Rugby World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and excitement is building among fans worldwide as they prepare for the showcase event in France.

Running from 8 September to 28 October, the tournament will see 20 teams battling it out for the ultimate prize in rugby.

In this article, we provide a comprehensive list of all the participating teams and introduce Chile, a team making their Rugby World Cup debut.

Rugby World Cup Teams

What teams are in Rugby World Cup 2023?

The Rugby World Cup 2023 will feature 20 teams from around the globe, each aiming to claim victory on the sport’s biggest stage. The full list of competing nations is as follows:

Stream Rugby World Cup live
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Chile
  • England
  • Fiji
  • France (Hosts)
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Namibia
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • Tonga
  • Uruguay
  • Wales

Chile’s Rugby World Cup Debut

Chile will make their first-ever appearance in the Rugby World Cup, qualifying through a dramatic two-legged North American qualifier play-off against the United States. The Chilean team narrowly emerged victorious with a 52-51 aggregate win, earning their place in France 2023.

A Historic Absence

In a surprising twist, the 2023 Rugby World Cup will be the first in the competition’s history without any North American representation. Despite the United States hosting the event in 2031, neither the USA nor Canada managed to qualify for this year’s tournament.

Portugal’s Return to the World Stage

After their maiden Rugby World Cup appearance in 2007, Portugal is set to return to the global stage in France. In 2007, Portugal finished at the bottom of their group, which featured New Zealand, Scotland, Italy, and Romania. However, they did secure a losing bonus point against Romania, showcasing their competitive spirit.

As the Rugby World Cup 2023 approaches, fans worldwide can look forward to an exciting and competitive tournament featuring 20 diverse and talented teams.

With Chile making their debut and Portugal returning to the stage, the event promises to be a thrilling showcase of rugby’s finest. Stay tuned for more updates and analysis as the countdown to the Rugby World Cup 2023 continues.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *