How Does the Rugby World Cup Bracket Work?

Hey rugby enthusiasts! The Rugby World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and we can’t wait to see which team will triumph and take home the prestigious Webb Ellis Cup.

As we gear up for this spectacular event, let’s take a closer look at the 2023 Rugby World Cup bracket and how it works, so you can stay informed and enjoy every thrilling moment.

Rugby World Cup Bracket 2023

Pool Stage: The Road to the Knockout Rounds

The tournament starts with the pool stage, where 20 teams are divided into four pools (A, B, C, and D), each containing five teams. In this stage, each team faces off against every other team in their pool. These exciting matches run for about a month, and you can feel the anticipation build as the teams vie for a spot in the knockout rounds.

Teams earn points in the Rugby World Cup based on their match performance. A victory scores four points, a draw earns two points, and a loss, unfortunately, gets zero points. Additionally, teams can grab bonus points: one point for scoring four or more tries in a match and one point for losing by seven points or fewer.

Stream Rugby World Cup live

Once all the pool matches wrap up, the teams are ranked within their pool according to their accumulated points. The top two teams from each pool secure their spots in the knockout stage, where the real nail-biting action begins.

Knockout Stage: The Ultimate Rugby Showdown

The knockout stage is where the stakes are at their highest, with the quarterfinals, semifinals, and the final match determining the Rugby World Cup champion. This stage follows a single-elimination format, so a team must win to advance to the next round. One loss, and they’re out of the running.

The quarterfinal matchups are set up as follows:

  • Winner of Pool A vs Runner-up of Pool B
  • Winner of Pool B vs Runner-up of Pool A
  • Winner of Pool C vs Runner-up of Pool D
  • Winner of Pool D vs Runner-up of Pool C

The victorious teams from these four matches move on to the semifinals, where the matchups are:

  • Winner of Quarterfinal 1 vs Winner of Quarterfinal 2
  • Winner of Quarterfinal 3 vs Winner of Quarterfinal 4

The two semifinal winners face each other in the final match, with the triumphant team crowned the Rugby World Cup 2023 champions.

Extra time is played if a knockout stage match ends in a tie after the standard 80 minutes. Should the match remain tied after extra time, a sudden-death period is played, followed by a kicking competition if necessary to determine the winner.

Now that you know how the Rugby World Cup 2023 bracket works, you can fully immerse yourself in the exciting world of rugby. With world-class teams battling it out for glory, every match promises heart-pounding action and unforgettable moments.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *